President Constitutes Visitation Panels to Federal Polytechnics

President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR has approved the constitution of Visitation Panels to 25 Federal Polytechnics and 21 Colleges of Education.

Two former Executive Secretaries of the national Board for Technical Education, Prof A. T. Abdullahi and Engr. Dr. Nuru A. Yakubu are among the Chairmen of the Visitation Panels. While Prof Abdullahi is to chair the panel to the Federal Polytechnic, Ukana, Akwa Ibom State, Dr. Yakubu will lead his panel to the Federal Polytechnic, Ede.

According to the release on Friday, 5th February, 2021 and signed by the Director Press and Public Relations, Mr. Ben Bem Goong, the panels which have five members and a secretary have a nine point terms of reference as follows:

  • Examine the relationship between the institution and the various statutory bodies it interacts with, according to its law, for the purposes of supervision, planning, finance, discipline, guidance etc. Such bodies include the Governing Board, the supervising Agency and the Federal Ministry of Education;
  • Examine the quality of the leadership of the institution in terms of the role of the Governing Board, the Head of institution and other principal officers.
  • Examine the financial management of the institution over the recommended period and determine whether it was in compliance with appropriate regulations;
  • Investigate the application of funds, particularly the special grants and loans meant for particular projects in order to determine the status of such projects and their relevance for further funding;
  • Examine all academic programmes, policies and practices as well as the total academic and physical development, performance and direction of the institution and advice as to whether the desired targets have been met and how modifications may be made to achieve maximum academic productivity, excellence and service to the nation;
  • Study the general atmosphere of the institution over the period in question. In particular the general conduct and comportment of all personnel of the institution especially staff, students and managers and advice as to whether the correct training is being given and how necessary corrections may be made. This should include the relationship between the institution and the host community over the period’
  • Study in detail the management structure and performance of the institution including fiscal, administrative, personnel and welfare policies and advise on ways to cut cost, reduce waste and continue to develop, if necessary by adaptation, rather than expansion in the face of attenuated resources;
  • Examine the “Law” establishing the institution and consider in what ways the law has been observed in all ramifications by the competent authorities and suggest any necessary modifications to the law in order to enable the institution achieve its objectives better; and
  • Advise on any and all other aspects of the institution that you may consider of interest to both the Visitor and the public; and to the attainment of the objectives for which the institution was set up.

The Panels have six weeks from the date of commencement of sittings to submit their reports to government.

The Chairmen of the panels to 25 Federal Polytechnics include; Prof. S.O Abdurraheem, Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna; Mrs. Hindatu Abdullahi, Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure; Prof. Remy Uche, Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda; 
Sen. Dr. Ugochukwu Uba, Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic,
Birnin Kebbi; Hon. Usani. U Usani, Federal Polytechnic, Bali; Alh. Bawa Buwari, Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi; Prof. Aliyu Buba Ardo, Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu; Prof. William. B. Qurix Mubi; Alh. Bappah Toro, Federal Polytechnic, Bida; Amb. Aminu Moddibo, Federal Polytechnic, Idah; Prof. Francis Egbokhare, Nasarawa; Prof. Duro Oni, Federal Polytechnic, Offa; Prof. Stephen Ocheni, Federal Polytechnic, Nekede; and Prof. Abiodun O. Olotuah;  Oko.

Others are; Prof. Joseph Ajienka, Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Unwana; Sen. Ayo Arise, Auchi Polytechnic Auchi; Prof. Ben Angwe, Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas, Bonny; Prof. A.T. Abdullahi, Federal Polytechnic, Ukana; Prof. Y.A. Quadri, Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe; Engr. Chris Okpechi, Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi; Prof. Fidelis Ogah, Federal Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti; Dr. Nuru Yakubu, Federal Polytechnic Ede; Prof. Essiet.U. Essiet, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro; Ibrahim Dasuki Nakande, Federal Polytechnic Ile-Oluji; and Dr. Amina Shamaki, Yaba College of Technology, Yaba.