President Buhari Approves Take-off Seven New Federal Polytechnics

President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR has approved the establishment of and take-off of seven new Federal Polytechnics in some states of the federation where none existed.

The new Federal Polytechnics are to be established at Monguno, Borno State; N’yak, Shendam Plateau State; Wannune, Benue State; Ugep, Cross River State; Ayede, Oyo State; Ohodo, Enugu State; and Orogun, Delta State.

The President’s approval which was conveyed by his Chief of Staff, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari also stated that the sum of Two Billion Naira (N2 Billion) only has been approved to each of the new institutions as take-off grants from the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund).

The letter of approval further indicated that “A Technical Team from the Federal Ministry of Education (FME) and the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) will soon visit the states to identify the site and asses the readiness for commencement of academic activities in October, 2021”.

Meanwhile the Federal Ministry of Education in a letter reference DHE/Poly/39/C.1/1/74 dated 5th January, 2021 and signed by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Arc. Sonny S.T. Echono, conveyed the appointment of the Executive Secretary of NBTE as a member of the Implementation Committee charged with the responsibility of taking necessary actions to actualize Mr. President’s directive for the establishment of the new Polytechnics.

Establishment of the new Polytechnics according to the Honourable Minister of Education, Mal. Adamu Adamu is part of President Muhammadu Buhari’s efforts to redress the huge gap in skills in key sectors of Nigerian economy and to also ensure that there is a Federal Polytechnic in each state of the federation.

The Minister had also explained that the Ministry has designed a phased development programme for the establishment of the remaining Polytechnics in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Abia, and Sokoto States due to the challenges posed by the dwindling resources available to the country.