NSQF Operational Manual (Reviewed Edition)

WHAT IS NSQF? NSQF formally called NVQF is a system for the development, classification and recognition of skills, knowledge, understanding and competencies acquired by individuals, irrespective of where and how the training or skill was acquired. The system gives a clear statement of what the learner must know or be able to do whether the learning took place in a classroom, on-the-job, or less formally. The framework indicates the comparability of different qualifications and how one can progress from one level to another. The framework is the structure within which the National Skills Qualifications (NSQs) operate. 


Following the approval of the appointment of Prof. Idris Bugaje as the substantive Executive Secretary of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) by President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, the new Executive Secretary on Wednesday 21st April 2021 formally received handover notes from the Acting Executive Secretary of the Board, Engr. Abati Muhammad in a brief ceremony held in the NBTE Board Room Kaduna. While addressing Management staff of the Board, the new Executive Secretary, who also unveiled a 3Ss Road Map for the Board, stated that he accepted the appointment of the ES of NBTE because he viewed it as a call for national service and his determination to transform the Board and make it occupy its rightful place in the scheme of things in the country and beyond.

President Buhari appoints Professor Idris M. Bugaje as the Substantive Executive Secretary of NBTE

President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR has appointed Prof. Idris Muhammad Bugaje as the substantive Executive Secretary of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Kaduna. The appointment was announced today Wednesday, 14th April, 2021 by Mr. Ben Goong, the Director of Press and Public Relations at the Federal Ministry of Education. Prof. Bugaje has been Rector of Kaduna Polytechnic since September 17, 2017 before his appointment today as NBTE Executive Secretary.

Digest of Statistics

The TVET institutions under the purview of NBTE comprises Polytechnics, Monotechnics, Innovation Enterpise Institutions refered to as IEIs, Vocational Enterprise Institutions refered to as VEIs and Technical College. The following is the digest of statistical data of these institutions for the 2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14 and 2014/15 academic sessions. The statistical digest of each of the TVET institution listed above are presented in separate chapters in much the same order for easy location and reading. Coverage of the Institutions’ Digest The institutions listed under each of the TVET institution types in this Digest have been officially recognized by NBTE to operate. Also, the full and part-time programmes and trades covered are those that have been standardized by NBTE, and have been granted interim or full accreditation. Therefore, anynother programme offered by the institution or any other institutions’ own certification are exempted for the purpose of this publication. The statistical data presented across these TVET institutions comprises students enrolment and out-turn, teaching and non-teaching staff distribution for the 2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14 and 2014/15 academic sessions.

Directories of Accredited Programmes

These are current and past editions of the directories of accredited programmes offered in all institutions under the regulation of NBTE in Nigeria. They contain lists of programmes that are granted full accreditations and Interim accreditations. They were published in exercise of the powers conferred on the Board by the Education (National Minimum Standards and Establishment of Institutions) CAP E3 LFN 2004. Accreditation has been granted to the following categories of institutions: i. Polytechnics; ii. Colleges of Agriculture; iii. Innovation Enterprise Institutions; iv. Colleges of Health Sciences; v. Specialized Institutions; vi. Technical Colleges; and vii. Vocational Enterprise Institutions. Approved institutions offering the approved programmes can award the following certificates as the case may be and as appropriate to the graduate of the programmes: i. National Diploma (ND) ii. Higher National Diploma (HND) iii. Full Professional Diploma [Post-HND] or iv. National Innovation Diploma (NID) v. National Vocational Certificate (NVC) vi. National Technical Certificate (NTC) vii. National Business Certificate (NBC) viii. Advanced National Technical Certificate (ANTC) ix. Advanced National Business Certificate (ANBC)

NBTE Centre of Excellence for TVE

The NBTE Centre of Excellence under the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) was established by the Management of NBTE through the Governing Board in 2010, to build on the achievements of the UNESCO-Nigeria TVE project on Revitalization of Technical and Vocational Education in Nigeria, to facilitate the capacity development of TVET personals, promote innovation and enhance partnership. The Centre formally took off on 1st January 2012. It is also one of the UNEVOC Centres in Nigeria.

Brief History of National Board for Technical Education (NBTE)

The Federal Government established the National Board for Technical Education by Act 9 of January 1977. In August, 1985 and January 1993 respectively, the Federal Government enacted Act 16 (Education (National Minimum Standards and Establishment of Institutions) Act) and Act 9 (Education (National Minimum Standards and Establishment of Institutions) (Amendment) Act). With these Acts, the functions of the Board were extended to include accreditation of academic programmes in all Technical and Vocational Education (TVE) institutions. Act No.9 of 1st January 1993 further empowered the Board to recommend the establishment of private Polytechnics and Monotechnics in Nigeria.

President Buhari Approves Take-off Seven New Federal Polytechnics

President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR has approved the establishment of and take-off of seven new Federal Polytechnics in some states of the federation where none existed. The new Federal Polytechnics are to be established at Monguno, Borno State; N’yak, Shendam Plateau State; Wannune, Benue State; Ugep, Cross River State; Ayede, Oyo State; Ohodo, Enugu State; and Orogun, Delta State.

President Constitutes Visitation Panels to Federal Polytechnics

President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR has approved the constitution of Visitation Panels to 25 Federal Polytechnics and 21 Colleges of Education. Two former Executive Secretaries of the national Board for Technical Education, Prof A. T. Abdullahi and Engr. Dr. Nuru A. Yakubu are among the Chairmen of the Visitation Panels. While Prof Abdullahi is to chair the panel to the Federal Polytechnic, Ukana, Akwa Ibom State, Dr. Yakubu will lead his panel to the Federal Polytechnic, Ede.