Hon Minister Inaugurates Boards of FME Parastatals

The Honourable Minister of Education, Mal. Adamu Adamu has inaugurated the Governing Boards of 19 parastatals of the Federal Ministry of Education and Governing Councils of two Federal Universities. The Chairman and members of the Governing Board of the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Prof. Modupe Adelabu, Chief Aguwa Ahamefule Ndubuisi and Alhaji Abdul Shaba Panti respectively were also inaugurated at the ceremony which was held at the National Universities Commission Auditorium in Abuja.

Hon. Minister of Education, Mal. Adamu Adamu (right) while presenting appointment letter to NBTE Board Chairman Prof. Modupe Adelabu (left), watching is ES NBTE (middle) 

The Minister of Education who congratulated the Chairmen and Board members for being found worthy and qualified for the appointment into the Boards charged them not to lose sight of the change mantra of the present administration and avoid acts of impunity, arbitrariness and recklessness to respect for rule of law and due process.

He stated that it is the change that this administration considers as Nigeria's journey to economic prosperity and national development, adding that education is the major pillar that supports the change.  He said members are appointed to join in the education sector to continue to strengthen the pursuit of the change-policies of the present administration.

Board Chariman and ES
NBTE Board Chairman, Prof Modupe Adelabu (left) with ES NBTE, Dr. M. A. Kazaure

“As boards of agencies and parastatals, and in keeping with the change promise of this administration, you are expected to carry out your assignment with professionalism, dedication, sincerity and patriotism and to be guided by the conditions of your appointments as contained in your letters of appointment and other relevant government circulars” the Minister charged.

He explained further that the Board and Management are two distinct entities with different responsibilities, explaining that while the Board set policies and define the directions, the management implements those policies and decisions. He urged them to appreciate and respect this distinction to avoid unnecessary friction and acrimony between the boards and chief executives and managements.  

The Minister maintained that Board appointment is a part-time appointment that is concerned with policy formulation and cautioned the board members not to interfere in the day- to- day running of their agencies but to maintain harmonious relationship with the chief executives as well as make deliberate efforts to diversify the sources of income and support for the agencies.

While announcing that the Ministry has commenced the implementation of the Ministerial Strategic Plan 2016 – 2019, the Minister enjoined the board members to key into the Plan and use it as one of the policy guides “Specifically, I want you to support the pursuit of the ten strategic goals of the Ministerial Strategic Plan as they relate to your respective agencies” the Minister implored.

Chief Aguwa
Chief Agwu, Ahamefule Ndubuisi, NBTE Governing Board Member
Tpl Abdul Shaba Panti
Tpl. Abdul Shaba Panti, NBTE Governing Board Member

Also, in his opening remarks, the Honourable Minister of State for Education, Prof. Anthony Anwukah said the government found the board members distinguished hence their appointment to bring their wealth of experience to grow their respective agencies to ensure that products of educational institutions are right to drive the Change mantra of the present administration, while urging also to work assiduously to make Nigeria a great country.

Responding on behalf of the chairmen and members of the Board, Prof. Ayo Banjo and Chief Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba thanked the government for finding them worthy to serve the nation and urged all the appointees to be conversant with the rules and regulations governing their respective agencies and to be agents of the change agenda of the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Chairmen and their agencies include, Prof. Ayo Banjo, National Universities Commission; Hon. Dr. Ekaete Obong Okon, Nigerian Institute of Educational Planning and Administration; Dr. Mahmud Muhammed, Universal Basic Education; Prof. Zainab Alkali, National Library Board; Dr. Abubakar Sadiq, National Examination Council; Dr. Gidado Bello A, National Commission for Mass Literacy Adult and Non-formal Education; Prof. Gidado Tahir, Nomadic Education; Prof. Leonard Karshima Shilgba, National Business and Technical Examination Board; and Prof. Adamu Baike, Teachers Registration Council.

Others are; Alh. Maigari Dingyadi, National Commission for Colleges of Education; Chief Emeka Nwajiuba, Tertiary Education Trust Fund; Sen. Kaka Malam Yale, National Teachers Institute; Prof. Buba Bajoga, National mathematical Centre; Dr. Emmanuel Ndukwe, Joint Admission and Matriculation Board; Chief Nkwo Nnabuchi, national Institute of Nigerian Languages; Chief Paul Unongo Nigeria Education Research & Development Council; Prof. Temidayo Oladeji, Nigerian French Language Village, Badagry; Prof. Modupe Adelabu, national Board for Technical Education; and Prof. O. Oladusi, National Arabic Language Village Maidiguri.

Chairmen of the Governing Council of the two Federal Universities include the former Governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Timipriye Sylva for Nigerian Maritime University, Okeronnkoko and Prof. Peter Okebukola, former Executive Secretary of National Universities Commission for National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN)..